Mowantjie Willauwar Conservation Park

About: Mowantjie Willauwar Conservation Park conserves Southern Cypress Pine (Callitris gracilis) forest that includes two nationally threatened orchid species, the vulnerable Sandhill Greenhood Orchid (Pterostylis arenicola) and the endangered Metallic Sun-orchid (Thelymitra epipactoides).

The native pine found in the park is named ‘Mowantjie’ in the Ngarrindjeri language, while ‘Willauwar’ is a plural word meaning ‘forest of species’. Therefore the name ‘Mowantjie Willauwar’ means ‘Native Pine Forest’, which accurately describes the park.

Where is it?: It is situated 6km SSW of Tailem Bend along the Princess Highway between Tailem Bend and Meningie.

Owner: Department for Environment and Water.

Property summary: Total area 143 hectares. Hundred of Seymour – Sections 513-518, Allotments 50-54 (Filed Plan 33930)1.

Landscape Management Region: Murraylands and Riverland

History: Sections 513-518 were proclaimed a Forest Reserve on 30 March 19672. This area was known as the Tailem Bend Forest Reserve. It was proclaimed on 2 June 2005 as Mowantjie Willauwar Conservation Park3.

Habitat: There are a number of habitats within the park –

  • Closed forest – Southern Cypress Pine with understory including Golden Wattle (Acacia pycnantha) and Sticky Hop-bush (Dodonaea viscosa spp. spatulata)
  • Woodland – Drooping Sheoak (Allocasuarina verticillata)
  • Woodland – Mallee Box (Eucalyptus porosa) with understory plants including Ruby Saltbush (Enchylaena tomentosa var. tomentosa) and Grey Mulga (Acacia brachybotrya)
  • Grassland – Scented Irongrass (Lomandra effusa)

Weed species such as Bridle Creeper (Asparagus asparagoides), Perennial Veldt Grass (Ehrharta calycina), False Caper (Euphorbia terracina), Onion Weed (Asphodelus fistulosus) and Bearded Oat (Avena barbata) are prevalent throughout the park 2.

Total Species Recorded to Date: 66 (non-passerines 23, passerines 43)

Common Species: White-browed Babbler, Superb Fairywren, *European Goldfinch, Singing Honeyeater, Yellow Thornbill, Yellow-rumped Thornbill,

Less Common Species: Golden-headed Cisticola, Little Eagle, Brown Falcon, Galah, Weebill

 1 Protected Areas Information System Property Summary Report (15 March 2019). Department for Environment and Water, Adelaide, South Australia. 

 2 Crown Lands Act, 1929-1966: Hundred of Seymour—Forest Reserve Reserved. The South Australian Government Gazette. Government of South Australia. 13: 1136. (30 March 1967). 

 3 Government of South Australia (2005). National Parks and Wildlife (Mowantjie Willauwar Conservation Park) Proclamation 2005. The South Australian Government Gazette.52: 1688. (2 June 2005). 

4 Department for Environment and Heritage, Adelaide, South Australia. (2008). Management Plan. Mowantjie Willauwar and Poonthie Ruwe Conservation Parks. 

Updated: 4/09/2021


Download the bird list