Shepherds Hill Recreation Park

Where is it?: Shepherds Hill Recreation Park is between St Marys and Eden Hills. Ayliffes Road forms part of the northern boundary along with Saddle Hill Reserve. On the eastern boundary is Watiparinga Reserve (National Trust of SA) and on the south Ellis Avenue Reserve (City of Mitcham). Public transport is available via the Adelaide-Belair Railway with a short walk (c. 320m.) from Eden Hills Station or Bus Route G10 (Blair Athol to Marion Centre Interchange – Stop 24A, Ayliffes Road). There is a car park along Ayliffes Road.

Owner:  Department for Environment and Water.

Property summary: Total area 77 hectares. Hundred of Adelaide – Allotments 3 (Filed Plan 151775), 4 (Deposited Plan 26144) and 45 (Filed Plan 150600)1.

Landscape Management Region: Green Adelaide

History: In April 1952 Section 36 was subdivided and part now Allotment 4 (DP 26144) was purchased by the South Australian Housing Trust. The Minister of National Pleasure Resorts took control of this area in December 1953 and it became known as St Marys Reserve. In May 1955 Parts Sections 14, 15 and 35 now Allotments 3 and 45 was purchased and Shepherds Hill Reserve was soon dedicated. From 1953 to 1972 was administered by the South Australian Government Tourist Bureau as Shepherds Hill National Pleasure Resort 4.

It was proclaimed as Shepherds Hill Recreation Park on 27 April 19722.

More information: Friends of Shepherd Hill Recreation Park

Habitat: The native vegetation communities present in the park today have been greatly modified by a history of farming, grazing, and invasion by introduced species. Today the vegetation comprises in part, a remnant open woodland of grey box (Eucalyptus microcarpa) with the native understorey species of kangaroo thorn (Acacia paradoxa), golden wattle (Acacia pycnantha), native hopbush (Dodonaea viscosa spp. spatulata), and wallaby grass (Rytidosperma caespitosa). The creeks are lined with old growth river red gum (E. camaldulensis) Woodland4.

Total Species Recorded to Date: 66 (non-passerines 25, passerines 41)

Common Species: *Common Blackbird, *Spotted Dove, Superb Fairywren, Noisy Miner, Australian Magpie, Adelaide Rosella, *Common Starling, Red Wattlebird

Less Common Species: Red-browed Finch, Tawny Frogmouth, Red-rumped Parrot, Yellow-rumped Thornbill, Willie Wagtail

 1 Department for Environment and Water. (2019). Protected Areas Information System. Property Summary Report. 30 March 2019. p. 15.  

 6 National Parks and Wildlife Act 1972. (SA). sch 6: 7. 

 4 Shepherds Hill Recreation Park Management Plan. 2008. Department of Environment and Land Management, Adelaide, South Australia. 

Updated: 30/07/2021


Download the bird list