Warrenben Conservation Park

Where is it?: Warrenben Conservation Park is off the Yorke Highway between Warooka and Marion Bay c. 22km NW of Marion Bay.

Warrenben Conservation ParkOwner: Department for Environment and Water.

Property summary: Total area 4,058 hectares. Hundred of Warrenben – Sections 44, 45, 54 and 97 1

Landscape Management Region: Northern and Yorke

History: Section 97 was proclaimed as Warrenben National Park on 9 January 1969 2. The park was renamed Warrenben Conservation Park with the addition of Sections 44, 45 and 54 on 27 April 1972 3.

Warrenben Conservation ParkHabitat: This park constitutes a major proportion of the only large remnant area of native vegetation left on southern Yorke Peninsula.

Mallee plant community covers the north-eastern and southern sections of the park and includes species such as Coastal White Mallee (Eucalyptus diversifolia ssp. diversifolia), Red Mallee (E. oleosa), Mallee Box (E. porosa) and Sessile-fruit White Mallee (E. phenax). The understorey includes species of Calytrix, Acacia, Correa and Templetonia. The north-western section of the park includes tracts of low open woodland dominated by Drooping Sheoak Warrenben Conservation Park(Allocasuarina verticillata) and Dryland Tea-tree (Melaleuca lanceolata) as well as stands of Scrubby Cypress Pine (Callitris canescens). The central section is a mix of the two habitat types 4.

Total Species Recorded to Date: 82 (non-passerines 27, passerines 55)

Common Species: Purple-backed Fairywren, Galah, Purple-gaped Honeyeater, Silvereye, Australian Golden Whistler

Less Common Species: Brush Bronzewing, Diamond Firetail, Tawny Frogmouth, Tawny-crowned Honeyeater, Elegant Parrot

 1 Department for Environment and Water (2019). Protected Areas Information System Property Summary Report (15 March 2019).  Adelaide, South Australia.

 2 Government of South Australia (1974). The South Australian Government Gazette. National Parks Act, 1966: Hundred of Warrenben—Warrenben National Park. 2: 45. (9 January 1969)

 3 National Parks and Wildlife Act 1972 as amended 3 October 2019 (SA)

 4 Department for Environment and Heritage (2009). Management Plans. Mainland Conservation Parks of Yorke Peninsula. Adelaide, South Australia.

Updated: 22/12/2019

Download the bird list