Mount Monster Conservation Park

Where is it?: Mount Monster Conservation Park lies approximately 12 kilometres south of Keith on the western side of the Riddoch Highway along Mount Monster Road.

Owner: Department for Environment and Water.

Property summary: Total area 126 hectares. Hundred of Stirling – Sections 478, 499 and Allotment 111.

Landscape Management Region: Limestone Coast

History: Ninety-two hectares were dedicated as a Conservation Park on 30 September 1976 as a gift from three surrounding land owners2. On 18 February 2010 and additional 34 hectares were added to the park3.

Habitat: The park is dominated by steep rocky outcrops separated by narrow, deep gullies, producing a wide range of gradients and a number of sheer cliff faces. The rocky outcrops are dominated by an unusual granite (found in only one other location in South Australia) and some small outcroppings of tertiary limestone. Eight different vegetation associations have been identified:

  • Broombush (Melaleuca uncinata) / Honey Myrtle (Melaleuca brevifolia) / Dryland Tea-tree (Melaleuca lanceolata) Association is widespread throughout the park, but the mix of these three species varies considerably throughout the park, depending mostly on soil type.
  • Hedge Wattle (Acacia paradoxa) / Broombush / Honey Myrtle / Dryland Tea-tree Association only occurs on the rocky porphoritic outcrops, this association is also dominated by Spoon-leaved Spyridium (Spyridium spathulatum) and isolated individuals of Drooping Sheoak (Allocasuarina verticillata)(.
  • Pink Gum (Eucalyptus fasciculosa) / Desert Banksia (Banksia marginata) Association is very restricted, occurring only along the edge of the unsealed road on the northern boundary. It has the most diverse understorey of all the associations in Mount Monster, and includes Beaked Hakea (Hakea rostrata), Heath Tea-tree (Leptospermum myrsinoides), Prickly Tea-tree (Leptospermum continentale), and Austral Grasstree (Xanthorrhoea australis).
  • Yellow Mallee (Eucalyptus incrassata) / Honey Myrtle / Dryland Tea-tree Association occurs away from the porphoritic outcrops over shallow soils. It has a reasonably diverse and dense understorey, including species such as Beaked Hakea (Hakea rostrata), Broom Ballart (Exocarpus sparteus), Drooping Sheoak and Austral Grasstree
  • Pink Gum / Golden Wattle (Acacia pycnantha) / Honey Myrtle / Dryland Tea-tree Association is found on the deep alluvial soils, this association has a dense and diverse understorey including Beaked hakea, Broom Ballart, Drooping Sheoak and Austral Grasstree.
  • Peppermint Box (Eucalyptus odorata) / White Mallee (Eucalyptus gracilis) Association with emergent Pink Gum and Golden Wattle (Acacia pycnantha). It is the most wide-spread association in the park, and consequently the species mix varies greatly. It has a very limited, sparse understorey.
  • Peppermint Box / South Australian Coastal Mallee (Eucalyptus diversifolia) Association is only found along the south-eastern boundary of the park. The understorey is very limiteand very sparse consisting mostly of Austral Grasstree and Honey Myrtle. South Australian coastal mallee also occurs in isolated pockets throughout the park, but not often enough to warrant a separate association.
  • South Australian Blue Gum (Eucalyptus leucoxylon) / Peppermint Box (Eucalyptus odorata) Association occurs in the deep alluvial soils between the porphoritic outcrops. The trees are mature, well spaced and have no understorey or juvenile trees.4

More information: NPWSSA

Total Species Recorded to Date: 100 (non-passerines 40, passerines 60)

Common Species: Superb Fairywren, Galah, New Holland Honeyeater, Tree Martin, Red-rumped Parrot, Southern Scrub Robin, Eastern Rosella, Red Wattlebird

Less Common Species: Grey Butcherbird, Black-faced Cuckooshrike, Restless Flycatcher, Tawny-crowned Honeyeater, Sacred Kingfisher, Australian Owlet-Nightjar

 1 Department for Environment and Water. (2019). Protected Areas Information System. Property Summary Report. 30 March 2019. pp. 84-85.  

 2 National Parks and Wildlife Act, 1972¬1974: Mount Monster Conservation Park Constituted. The South Australian Government Gazette. Government of South Australia. 30 September 1976. 42: 1028. 

 3 National Parks and Wildlife (Mount Monster Conservation Park) Proclamation 2010. The South Australian Government Gazette. Government of South Australia. 18 February 2010. 10: 842. 

 4 Aberdour and Mount Monster Conservation Parks, Desert Camp Conservation Reserve and Poocher Swamp Game Reserve Management Plans. 1997. Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Adelaide, South Australia.  

Updated: 26/07/2021


Download the bird list