Wills Creek Conservation Park

Where is it?: Wills Creek Conservation Park is situated at Mangrove Point on the north-western shores of Gulf St Vincent. The park includes a coastal wetland/estuary of national significance. The park abuts the Price Saltfields. Parking is available at Price and at the end of the causeway linking Price to the tidal Wills Creek.Wills Creek Conservation Park

Owner: Department for Environment and Water.

Property summary: Total area 2298 hectares. Hundred of Cunningham – Allotments 6 (Deposited Plan 44470), 11-14, 20-22, 26-28 (Deposited Plan 31429)3.

Landscape Management Region: Northern and Yorke

History: Wills Creek Conservation Park was first proclaimed on 14 December 20061

Habitat: There are a three major plant communities with the park.

  • Mangrove woodland – Grey Mangrove (Avicennia marina ssp. marina).
  • Wills Creek Conservation Park

  • Low (Samphire) shrubland – Shrubby Samphire (Tecticornia arbuscula) and Beaded Samphire (Salicornia quinqueflora).
  • Low woodland – along the limestone escarpment north of Price – Red Mallee (Eucalyptus oleosa), Dryland Tea-tree (Melaleuca lanceolata) and Spear Grass (Austrostipa spp.)2

The park provides habitat for the nationally and state vulnerable Slender-billed Thornbill (Acanthiza iredalei). Wills Creek Conservation Park - Wills Creek

Total Species Recorded to Date: 103 (non-passerines 71, passerines 32)

Common Species: Common Greenshank, White-faced Heron, Singing Honeyeater, White-browned Scrubwren, Chestnut Teal, Grey Teal, Willie Wagtail

Less Common Species: Far Eastern Curlew, Rock Parrot, Terek Sandpiper, Red Wattlebird, Whimbrel


 1 Department for Environment and Water. (2019). Protected Areas Information System. Property Summary Report. 30 March 2019. p. 58.  

 2 Government of South Australia. (2006). National Parks and Wildlife (Wills Creek Conservation Park) Proclamation 2006. The South Australian Government Gazette. 71: 4373. (14 December 2006)  

 3 Management Plan. Mainland Conservation Parks of York Peninsula. 2009. Department for Environment and Heritage, Adelaide, South Australia.> 

Updated: 28/07/2021